We congratulate all the winners of our region who, on the occasion of World No Tobacco Day 2023, received recognition for their contributions to tobacco control.

The World Health Organization (WHO) distinguished the following organizations:

  • ACT Promoção da Saúde and the Center for Studies on Tobacco and Health (CETAB) of the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation of Brazil for having significantly contributed to the achievements of tobacco control in Brazil and to the understanding of the socio-environmental impact of tobacco cultivation and production.
  • Salud Justa Mx, Polithink, Coalición México Salud-Hable, Códice SC (Comunicación, Diálogo y Conciencia SC) and Refleacciona con Responsabilidad AC of Mexico for their efforts and perseverance for more than a decade advocating for the implementation of effective tobacco control measures aligned with the FCTC in their country.
  • The Research Center for the Tobacco Epidemic (CIET) of Uruguay and the Uruguayan Society of Tabacology (SUT) for protecting the application of plain packaging of tobacco products in their country, a policy adopted in 2019.

And the following people also received awards:

  • Reina Roa, from Panama, received the Special Recognition Award from the Director General of the WHO for her 20 years of work dedicated to eradicating tobacco consumption.
  • Blanca Llorente Carreño and Luz Myriam Reynales Shigematsu, from Colombia and Mexico respectively, received a joint award in recognition of their long-term contributions to tobacco control research and advocacy in their countries, in the region, and beyond.