Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall governance of the organization including the formulation of a long-range strategic plan.  It also has the final authority regarding the operations of the IAHF, consistent with the Bylaws.  Specifically, it has responsibility for the control and management of the affairs, funds, and property of the IAHF, including but not limited to, approval of the budget and other fiscal matters, approval of strategic and operational policies, oversight of risk management, delegation of the implementation of operational policy and employment to the Executive Director and annual evaluation of the Executive Director. The Board will also review Bylaws and make recommendations for discussion and approval by the General Assembly. To fulfill its responsibilities, the Board may create and dissolve committees of the Board and other more informal working groups as it deems necessary. The members of the Board shall serve without compensation.

Deborah Chen, SRN MPH – President
The Heart Foundation of Jamaica
Executive Director
Kingston, Jamaica

Nathan D. Wong, PhD, MPH, FACC, FAHA – Immediate Past President
Heart Disease Prevention Program, Division of Cardiology
University of California
Irvine School of Medicine

Mônica Andreis – Member at Large
ACT Health Promotion (formerly Alliance for the Control of Tobacco Use)
Executive Director

Daniel Piskorz, MD – Member at Large
Sanatorio Británico

Craig Beam, CRE – Vice President / President Elect
Innovation Institute – President Petra-ICS

La Palma, California

Marielba Cordido – Secretary
Fundación Venezolana del Corazón
Barquisimeto, Venezuela

Andrew Pipe, CM, MD, LLD(Hon)
DSc(Hon), FRCPSC(Hon)
– Member at Large
Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa
University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Karen Sealey, MD, MPH – Member at Large
International Consultant,
Global Health, Strategic Planning and Organizational Development
Director, Healthy Caribbean Coalition
Chair, Trinidad and Tobago NCD Alliance


Eugenia Ramos, PhD – Executive Director


Javier Valenzuela – Chief Operating Officer

Communications Team

Piera Deambrosi – Corporate Communications and Public Relations Analyst


Rosina Bonomi – IAHF E-newsletter Coordinator


Cristina Salazar – Finance and Wire Transfer Processing

IAHF Scientific Committee

Andreas Wielgosz, MD PhD FRCPC FACC
IAHF Past President
Department of Medicine
University of Ottawa

Daniel Piskorz, MD
Sanatorio Británico

Ivan Mendoza, MD MSc MS
Venezuelan Society of Cardiology
Chief Professor Tropical Cardiology
Central University of Venezuela


Nathan D. Wong, PhD, MPH, FACC, FAHA
Vice Chair
Heart Disease Prevention Program, Division of Cardiology
University of California
Irvine School of Medicine

Raul D. Santos, MD, MSC, PhD
InCor Lipid Clinic
University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Álvaro Avezum, MD, PhD, FESC, FACC
Director of the Research Division
Dante Pazzanese Institute of Cardiology
Professor at São Paulo University
International Research Fellow at Population Health Research Institute, McMaster University

IAHF Advisory Council

Alejandro Ramos Carbajales, M.Sc.
Tobacco Taxes and Illicit Trade

Jaime Miranda, MD, MSc, PhD, FFPH
Head of School of Public Health
University of Sidney
Previous Director at Center of Excellence in Chronic Diseases (CRONICAS) Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (UPCH)


Ronnie Bissessar, S.C.
Lawyer, Legal Advice
President, Trinidad & Tobago Heart Foundation



Edson Hernández Routman, MD
Cardiologist – Electrophysiologist
Director Red Cross – State of Lara
Director of the Cardiovascular Training Center ASCARDIO 

Peter Wielgosz
Lawyer, Legal Advice
Partner / Director
MLRO at Rimon Law (DIFC)

Karol Madriz Morales
Nutritionist and Researcher
Instituto Costarricense de Investigación y
Enseñanza en Nutrición y Salud (INCIENSA)